What does at fault mean when it comes to an accident?

When you are in a car accident, find out why determining fault is so important. Learn how it can affect liability.

When a car accident occurs in Connecticut, law enforcement must work to figure out who was at fault or who caused the accident. Upon determining who was at fault, that person becomes liable for the accident and the damages that occurred due to it. Any person involved in a crash should make themselves aware of how the at-fault law in the state can affect them.

The Legalities of At Fault

According to the Connecticut General Assembly, the state was a no-fault state until 1994. This has changed, though. Now drivers are assigned fault when a car accident occurs. The assignment of liability also gives the right to those who were not responsible to collect money owed to them through the court.

The Importance of Insurance

All those who have a driver's license must carry at least a set minimum of auto insurance. The minimum liability coverage required is $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident in bodily injury and $10,000 per accident in property damage. This also includes a requirement to carry $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident uninsured/underinsured coverage. Uninsured/underinsured coverage protects a driver who was not at fault if the other driver has no insurance or not enough insurance to cover damages.

Insurance coverage is essential to protect drivers in the event of damage or injury. Not having insurance opens a driver up to major liability and financial trouble if he or she is found at fault in an accident. For drivers who do carry insurance, having the proper minimum coverage is important to protect them from the possibilities of loss if they are involved in an accident with an uncovered driver.

Details About At-Fault Responsibilities

The Connecticut Insurance Department notes some details of what an at fault driver is responsible for after the accident. For example, if the other person's vehicle is no longer drivable, the at-fault party must pay for a rental or offer other compensation to pay for this loss of use. If the vehicle is repairable, then the at-fault driver must provide compensation for the time between the accident and when the person gets their vehicle back in operating condition.

In any case, when another driver is at fault for an accident, it is his or her responsibility to pay whatever labor and parts costs are required to repair the vehicle of the other driver. If the at-fault driver's insurance does not pay the full cost, then the driver is responsible him or herself. This may result in a court case to recover the damages.

Getting into an accident is never fun. It can be quite devastating, especially if you are found at fault. However, by having proper insurance coverage, you may be able to protect yourself. For further help, contact the Law Offices of James L. O'Rourke.