Law Offices of James L. O'RourkePersonal Injury Law
203-864-4427
Free Initial Consultation
800-658-1245
Don't Wait - Call Now!
Office Locations

Injured? Free Case Evaluation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Drunk driving has serious legal penalties

Drunk driving in Connecticut is fatal. The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration reported that the state suffered 85 fatalities due to drunk driving accidents in 2012.

Drivers are legally-impaired if they have a blood alcohol concentration of at least .08. Drivers under 21 are considered impaired with a BAC of .02. Nonetheless, drivers face prosecution for driving under the influence if their driving is impaired, regardless of their BAC. Police may arrest suspects and tow their vehicles at the driver's expense.

Driving while impaired is a criminal offense. For a first offense, drivers are subject to a 45-day license suspension and must comply with an ignition interlock program for one year after license restoration. A second conviction results in a 45-day license suspension or a suspension until the driver's 21st birthday, 3-year ignition interlock program, and driving limitations to the motorist's work, school, substance abuse programs or probation appointments for one year after license restoration. A third or subsequent conviction leads to license revocation for at least two years.

The state imposes additional criminal penalties where impaired driving leads to injury or death. Violators may be prosecuted for vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide.

Connecticut may also impose license suspension as an administrative penalty where a driver does not submit to a blood, breath or urine test or a driver under 21 has a test result exceeding .02.

The length of an administrative suspension depends on the violation, the driver's age and whether the driver is a repeat offender. For drivers that are under 18-years-old, the suspensions may last from 18 months to 5 years. Motorists between 18 and 21 face suspensions lasting from 6 months to 5 years.

No laws can prevent this reckless behavior in its entirety. However, victims of an accident caused by a drunk driver may be entitled to compensation for serious injuries, lost wages and medical expenses. Prompt advice should be sought to protect rights, assure that evidence is obtained and that deadlines for filing a lawsuit are met.

Source: Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, "Connecticut's drunk driving law-OUI," Accessed Oct. 20, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
address

Law Offices of James L. O'Rourke

Stratford Office
1825 Barnum Avenue, Suite 201
Stratford, CT 06614

Toll Free: 800-658-1245
Phone: 203-864-4427
Fax: 203-377-2770
Stratford Law Office Map

Shelton Office
221 Nells Rock Road
Shelton, CT 06484

Toll Free: 800-658-1245
Phone: 203-864-4427
Fax: 203-377-2770
Shelton Law Office Map

Stamford Office
141 Briar Brae Road
Stamford, CT 06903

Toll Free: 800-658-1245
Phone: 203-864-4427
Fax: 203-377-2770
Stamford Law Office Map