Most insurance claims filed after a crash in Connecticut are against the policy of the driver who caused the collision. Liability coverage protects the at-fault driver from financial devastation by reimbursing people for injuries, lost wages and property damage caused in a crash.
When another driver hurts you or damages your vehicle, most of the time you will just need to make a claim against their insurance policy. However, there are scenarios in which a driver may need to make a claim against their own policy for coverage after a crash caused by someone else.
When might you need to make a claim against your own insurance in Connecticut?
After a hit-and-run crash
State law in Connecticut is quite clear. If there is an injury or any property damage, the people involved in a motor vehicle collision should stop their vehicles and report the collision to law enforcement. Unfortunately, some people will cause a crash and then immediately flee in the hopes of avoiding responsibility.
There are numerous reasons for people to act this way. They may be in clear violation of the law, such as drunk or under the influence of drugs. They may have let their insurance or license lapse, meaning they would face criminal charges for driving. They could also have numerous other tickets or a warrant unrelated to driving. When you can’t locate the at-fault driver because they fled, you may want to make a claim against your own insurance policy.
When the driver who hits you doesn’t have insurance coverage
Sometimes, a driver won’t flee the scene but will instead sheepishly admit to you that they don’t currently have insurance on their vehicle. Your uninsured and underinsured driver coverage will protect you in this situation.
Connecticut typically expects drivers to carry at least as much uninsured motorist coverage as the liability coverage they carry. This additional protection helps you when the driver who causes your crash doesn’t have any insurance for your medical care or vehicle damage.
When basic insurance coverage isn’t enough
Sometimes, the other driver stops to file a police report and has car insurance, but they only have the bare minimum required by Connecticut state law. They might only have $25,000 worth of property damage coverage or as little as $25,000 worth of medical coverage. Your underinsured driver coverage can help protect you when your total losses from a crash are clearly higher than the coverage of the other driver.